Today’s a struggle

Not in a happy place today….I am frustrated with my continued bad eating habits and the unbelievable amount of info out there on what you should eat and what you should not eat. Should it be high carb, low carb, exhanges, counting calories? The list goes on and on.

Add to all of those questions there is the biggie – I live in Beijing and many of the foods suggested are not available here. Granted we are very blessed with the western food we can get but any of the special foods you are supposed to use – low salt, low calories etc. are not available here. So what do you do?

Ok – I am depressed, I don’t want to walk on the treadmill and I am starving.

If anyone has suggestions on the best way to approach this eating I would appreciate it. I need to make a choice and stick to it but ……..

2 thoughts on “Today’s a struggle

  1. I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes just over 2 months ago and I’m still struggling with what to eat, but I am finding there are plenty of options that don’t require insane shopping or cooking. I’ve found that cutting out certain carbs has definitely helped my blood sugar levels, but I definitely have been having depressed days too. Feel free to contact me if you want to talk about what you’re experiencing.

  2. Heather. After reading your first blog on Diabetes diagnosis – wake up call! I decided it was time to make some changes too. Joined Curves in Paris, Ont – a Christian org – go figure. Their approach to weight management and sugar control is off the map – but it works. Week 1 – 9 lbs lost and baby – I DON’T want to find them. Feel amazing. Mood swings gone – depression gone – – clear headed and positive thinking – woow – didn’t know good foods could do that to you.
    I think see your counsellor is a super idea – as she will guide you through the journey.
    Keep trucking – but don’t forget to enjoy the journey.
    Love
    Clara (Canada-Connection)

Leave a Reply

