2011 and some thoughts

I had a wonderful Christmas vacation both in Beijing where I hosted a delicious Christmas dinner for some friends (no, I didn’t cook but hired a restaurant to do all the cooking, delivery, etc.) and then in Siem Reap Cambodia.  When I left Beijing on Boxing Day (December 26th for those less informed in British and Canadian tradition) it was -11 degrees Celsius.  Eight hours later after a lengthy stop in Guangzhou I landed in Siem Reap where the temperature was 34 degrees and no humidity.  It was heaven.

While there I visited the special sites like Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Sap Lake and also did some Cambodian cooking, which, for those of you who know me, understand that that is a surprising turn of events.  It is not that I am not a good cook.  I am actually a very good cook.  I just don’t like it…..never have.  We had a great time learning how to cook Green Mango Salad, Fish Amok (incredible) and a dessert stuffed with palm tree sugar ( so good).

I also enjoyed spending time just kicking back watching English television and watching the endless Bowl games.  When you don’t get English television on a daily basis and you never watch football someone else cannot understand how wonderful it was just to hear the sounds of the crowds that are so familiar in my other life.

I spent a considerable amount of time also praying, not is a on your knees kind of praying but just talking to God.  Our conversations have been hit and miss this past year and it has been hard work. There has been a real disconnect.  I am not sure why – but it has definitely been there.  So I worked on reestablishing daily conversation with Him.  I wanted to become more comfortable talking about the future as I know it is going to change in the next 18 months.  I wanted to talk about the fact that I am entering a new decade in my life and direction.  I also wanted to think a lot about how I wanted to face the next challenges at work and about my attitude.

It was a nice time and our relationship, while not totally back to where it has been previously, is moving forward and becoming more comfortable.

I discovered a couple of new blogs and I wanted to mention one of them here. It is called Exercise of Grace.  It is new and I really like what I have read so far.  The reason I am mentioning it here is because of the post about One Word.  It has caught my interest and I am thinking about it.  What will my one word be for 2011?  What would your one word for 2011 be?

http://exerciseofgrace.blogspot.com/2011/01/oneword-2011.html

I am praying about it to see where it leads.  Yes, I know that this is already the 7th of January but with my birthday on the 13th I always feel that I can restart the year at that time if I get off to a slow start.  Of course, living in China allows me one more chance to restart the year with Chinese New Year.

Leave a Reply

