Learning to Ride – mini update

Ok, BB is all better thanks to my lovely ayi Liu Shi Hong. She even got me a new basket with a nice butterfly on the front.

So this afternoon I struggled to get BB back out of the apartment and to begin to learn to balance and ride this thing.  The circuit inside the apartment complex is an oval and I figured this would be a good place to practise.  So out I go.  Get on the bike, turn on the bike, turn the throttle and start to tip over.  Off I went with one foot on the ground balancing and one on the bike.  This is how I went around the first circuit. It took a long time.  I wanted to give up but I didn’t.  That time it took me about 15 minutes to get around the circuit.

The second circuit was a bit better. I had figured out that there was a nice gentle speed that would keep me on the bike so I tried for that.  It was hard adjusting to the weight of the bike though.  I was getting a bit better – not much – but a bit.  An old couple were walking around the complex and were going faster than I was.  They very quickly realized that I was trying to learn to do something new and kept smiling.  I wobbled by them a couple of times.

I was really tired by the third time but I decided to give it another go.  I did well – it sure wasn’t pretty and it wasn’t straight but I was starting to stay on the bike for longer period of time.  I finally was able to go about 1/4 of the way around the circuit without having to rebalance myself.  When I finally decided to stop my wrists were hurting and my shoulders were hurting but I had been successful.

People that saw me were really supportive. One of the guards gave me a thumbs up as I wobbled by.   🙂

Tomorrow is another day and another time to practice.  I am proud of myself today…..I got out there.

2 thoughts on “Learning to Ride – mini update

  1. Hey!
    Thought I would stop by to check out your blog.. looks great 🙂
    I do like wordpress a lot better..

    You mentioned you teach 3rd grade – that’s awesome, one of my favorite ages! I teach music at an elementary school so I get to see the little ones.

  2. Heather…I don’t know how on earth I found this But it;s great . I;ve been thinking of you more so lately, wondering are you still Teaching in China.
    I drove passed your old Brampton Apartment build the other day.And remebered when you received and fax back your offer to teach in China.
    All the uncertain factors.
    but I am sooo glad you are happy and enjoying yourself and becoming 60.
    I was in Paris, On. by your mom’s home. Wondering if she was still there.
    I lost my mon last year..and it seems you lose your anchor in life when you lose your parents.
    Love reading your Diary, learning, living your adventures.
    Blessings my dear friend….Linda

Leave a Reply

