Harry Potter and more..

pottermore-8I am a huge Harry Potter fan. Always have been, though I certainly wouldn’t fall into the stand in line for hours at midnight group. I am more the preorder through Amazon to get the book delivered on first day. Actually, in my case it was usually the second day as I was home in Canada both times I did that. I have also been known to have spent three days of my Vietnam vacation sitting by the fabulous pool, listening to the sound of the ocean in the background as it rolls into the beach, reading one of the books from cover to cover. I think it was the one where (spoiler alert) Dumbledore dies but I am not sure except it was a long one.

Anyway, I digress…. I got started reading Harry Potter when it first came out and I was teaching at Kindergarten at a christian school. Parents started asking me what I thought about Harry Potter and was it appropriate. At that time I didn’t even know who or what a Harry Potter was. So not having an answer I did what I always do when there are controversies, I investigate on my own. So I drove one afternoon to Costco went directly to the book section and bought Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. It was a relatively thin, soft covered book with a painting of a young boy with a scar on his forehead. Little did I know that I was starting on an adventure that would last for over a decade.

I loved the world created by the author and hoped there would be more books. ๐Ÿ™‚
In answer to the question the parents were asking me I now had an opinion and while I always answered honestly. One of the families I taught for a number of years, meaning I taught three of their kids in kindergarten, drove from Ontario to Florida every Christmas and the books were read to the three kids in the back seat and the driver. (This was long before there were iPads, tablets, smartphones.) Kids were expected to entertain themselves on long trips. Fighting was not allowed. I loved the idea.

Anyway, why am I sharing this walk down memory lane? Because, though I am probably late to the party, JK Rowling has just published a short story about Harry Potter and his family on her incredible website. I read about it on one of my favourite blogs HGTV.
http://blog.hgtv.com/design/2014/07/10/harry-potter-decor/

So in case anyone is wanting me this afternoon I will be downstairs sitting outside (they have wireless) at the coffee shop reading the story and catching up with old friends.

I think this is a great distraction after the morning frustrations of applying for a Visa for entrance to the country of my new adventure. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and more..

  1. That’s really lovely, I like knowing how people come to find their favorite books. Have you read the mystery books that Rowling has written under another name? (a male name I think). Those look interesting to me too.

  2. I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, and I don’t wait in line to buy, either.

    I remember reading the book the night before my final exams (I was studying for my bachelor’s degree), instead of doing my study. Haha!

Leave a Reply

