Apartment Viewing and a stroll

Yesterday was an interesting day as I began to explore a bit of Hanoi. Invited to join one of the teachers and his fiancée we met up with the landlord I had been emailing. He very sweetly got a taxi once I joined them and took us to lunch over by the school. Turned out I wasn't very hungry but the food was good.

Then it was time to go and see his apartments. He kept talking about Westlake being the best area and I had heard that. Imagine my surprise that when we went to view the apartments there were no elevators. The first apartment was interesting. You walk in through a Vietnamese family's house/ business where everyone is sitting watching TV and welcoming us and then start to climb the brown stairs. Round and round we go – it reminded me of climbing Brock's Monument in Niagara decades ago. At least at that historical climb there wer railings not so one this climb. There were plastic covered wires that acted as the railings. Help!

All of a sudden we stopped and I realized that a sliding door had opened and there were shoes on the step. We must have arrived. Took off my flip flops and walked into a very bright completely redone apartment. What a view! The entire far wall was windows and it was so bright you would need shades to stay in the living room. By shades I mean sunglasses…. It was so hot I was dying from the humidity.

We visited another apartment in a nearby building that was still occupied by very messy foreigners. But even though it was 2 bedrooms I was not willing to pay the price that was being asked. By now I had come to one conclusion – the most important thing on my list was no longer the number of bedrooms but a lift/elevator. While the rest of the group continued on to look at other apartments I decided to park myself outside at a table by the lake. Imagine my joy when I found out that there was a large fan plugged in that I could turn on and use. So with sweat (forget the polite word perspiration) drenching me I sat down on a chair, pulled up another one for my feet, turned on the fan and looked at the lake.

When they returned we hopped in the waiting taxi and came back to the hotel. The landlord seemed a bit perturbed with me that I had not indicated the importance of a lift. Well, I had forgotten that often there no elevators in Asia. He was very negative about me finding a place with an elevator and nothing near the lake which is the prime area (he said) for expats. He also told me that they would be very expensive and out of my price range.

A bit discouraged but happy to be back at the hotel I said goodbye to everyone and went up to my room to shower and sleep.

Thank goodness for Brad but that is another story.

 

Leave a Reply

