Thursday in Hanoi

The morning is cloudy or rather overcast but the sun is an orange ball in the sky reflecting on the lake. Decided to take a picture standing barefoot on balcony.  The floor is cold.  Brrrrr.  Note to self – put on shoes or at least slippers when stepping outside onto balcony in January.

Usual taxi ride but tons of traffic and lots of stopping.  Probably more because I am later than usual than the fact that there are more cars and motorbikes.  Saw two cars, both white though that has nothing to do with what I noticed, trying to turn left into oncoming traffic.  That wasn’t working well for them so they decided just to turn left and go up the sidewalk instead.  That didn’t work out too well but before I could get a picture other cars pulled in front and I couldn’t see anymore.  Those cars were black but that too has nothing to do with what I was saying – just noticed that.

Got to school and was hugged by two of my lovely girls.  They told me that our Drama Queen had cried all the way to school on the bus because her grandparents had left to return to Ho Chi Minh City.  They have been visiting for a month because of the new baby.  DQ (not Dairy Queen for those of us who are Canadian) then ran to me threw her arms around me and proceeded to sob into my neck about her loss.  JM then stated the obvious,  “Stop crying.  They are not dead just went back home!”  I totally agreed but as a loving teacher I could say what was in my mind.  Oh the sacrifices we educators make.

Climbed the 98 stairs though A insists that it is just 96 – who cares – it is still a lot.  Turned on the heat which I just recently discovered to take the chill off the air.  Now I am far too hot but too lazy to get up and turn it off so will wait for the darlings to get up here and have one of them turn it off.  Probably the DQ.

So they arrived and are now noisily getting ready to go to PE.  Praise be – I can have breakfast which will be an omelet I ordered from the downstairs Bistro and am having delivered.  I love some things about this school.

So time for breakfast.  Time to review the Listening Test that the kids will sit after PE.  Time to begin the day.

Leave a Reply

